East Tennessee Foundation is managed by a volunteer board of directors who are very knowledgeable about their communities and broadly representative of the East Tennessee region.

2024 Officers

Chair: Bruce Hartmann, Sr. Vice President and Chief Community Relations Officer, University of Tennessee Medical Center

Vice Chair: Karen Walker, Chief Financial Officer, The Trust Company of Tennessee

Treasurer: Sam Albritton, Wealth Management Community Group, National Sales Manager / Senior Vice President, U.S. Bank

Ex-Officio: Keith Barber, East Tennessee Foundation, President + CEO

Ex-Officio: Angelia Nystrom, East Tennessee Foundation, Vice President of Advancement and Chief Legal Counsel + Secretary

2024 Board of Directors

  • Patsy Carson, Community Volunteer
  • Amy Cathey, Associate Dean for Graduate and Executive Education, Haslam College of Business at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Kay Clayton, Community Volunteer
  • Richard Dapaah, Head of Business and Corporate Development, SPARKZ Inc.
  • Steve Darden, Managing Partner, Hunter, Smith & Davis, LLP
  • Denise Dean, Executive Director, East Tennessee Freedom Schools 
  • Harry Gross, Greater Knoxville Market President and Commercial Lending Leader Knoxville/Tri-cities, Truist Bank 
  • Susanna Hoskins, Supervising Producer, RIVR Media
  • Rocio Huet, MD, Director of Integrative Medicine, University of Tennessee Medical Center
  • Trudy Hughes, CEO, Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts
  • Diondre Jackson, Founder, Penultimate Development
  • Adrian Jay, Special Projects Consultant, Howard H. Baker Jr. Center for Public Policy
  • Drocella Mugorewera, Consultant, The Diversity Trust Builder 
  • Donde Plowman, Chancellor, University of Tennessee, Knoxville
  • Richard Roberts, Former Commissioner of the Tennessee Department of Revenue
  • Stephen Rosen, Managing Director in Fixed Income Capital Markets, Raymond James and Company 
  • Matt Schaefer, President and CEO, East Tennessee Children’s Hospital
  • Nathaniel Shelso, Relationship Manager, Private Banking, FirstBank
  • Barrett Simonis, President, Pugh CPAs
  • Kiran Singh Sirah, Storyteller/Peacebuilder/Narrative Change/Arts and Culture Leader
  • Kris Yarlett, Financial Advisor, Edward Jones 

Honorary Lifetime Members

  • Bobbie Y. Congleton*
  • Sam Fowler, Jr., Esq.*
  • Natalie L. Haslam, Community Volunteer
  • A. David Martin, Retired Founder, Martin & Company
  • Col. William M. Slayden*
  • David V. White, Community Volunteer
  • Stuart R. Worden, Worden, Rechenbach & Brooke
  • Lindsay Young, Esq.*



1986                            David V. White
1987 – 1988             Natalie L. Haslam
1989 – 1990             John R. Cooper
1991 – 1992              Bobbie Y. Congleton*
1993                             Gregg K. Jones
1994 – 1995              Larry D. Mauldin
1996 – 1997              A. David Martin
1998 – 1999              Joan D. Allen
2000 – 2002             Lloyd L. Montgomery, III
2003                              James A. Begalla*
2004                             Ann H. Hansen
2005                              J. Daniel Pressley
2006 – 2007             Mark K. Williams
2008 – 2009             Larry B. Martin
2010                              Peyton T. Hairston, Jr.*
2011                               Jenny L. Hines
2012 – 2013               Dr. Alice Mercer
2014                              Gen. Fred D. Womack
2015                              Keith D. Goodwin
2016                              Dr. Jeffrey M. Becker
2017 – 2018                Paul G. Willson
2019 – 2020               Amy Cathey
2021                               Cate Biggs