James K. Goldston Cybersecurity Scholarship Fund

Purpose and History

Established in 2006 by the family of James K. Goldston to provide assistance to students from Tennessee to pursue undergraduate programs of study in computer engineering, computer science, cyber science, or cybersecurity.

Scholarship Amount

$1,800 one-time award for one year


  • Residency Requirement: Not applicable
  • Education Requirement: Graduating high school seniors, currently enrolled college/university students, and non-traditional aged students
  • Field of Study: Computer engineering, computer science, cyber science, cybersecurity, or enrollment in an NSA National Center for Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity program. Interest in cybersecurity preferred.
  • GPA Minimum: 2.5
  • College/Enrollment Requirement: Full-time undergraduate at an accredited not-for-profit public or private college, university, or community college. *Preference given to those enrolled in an NSA National Center for Academic Excellence in Cybersecurity program at Jackson State Community College, Lemoyne-Owen College, Roane State Community College, Tennessee Technological University, University of Memphis, or University of Tennessee at Chattanooga.
  • Must demonstrate financial need
  • Additional Requirements:
    • U.S. Citizenship or Permanent Residence
    • Special consideration given to non-traditional students and applicants planning to attend or currently attending Tennessee schools
    • Preference given to applicants who are the first in their family to attend college

NOTE: Former recipients and applicants may reapply.