East Tennessee Foundation awarded $193,600 in arts-related grant awards

Twenty-three grants were awarded to nonprofits in ten counties

East Tennessee Foundation (ETF) awarded grants from the Arts Fund for East Tennessee and the Katherine Davis Moore and Mary Elizabeth (Betty) Davis Foundation Fund in August 2022. Twenty-three (23) grants totaling $193,600 were awarded to nonprofit organizations located in ten counties whose programs sustain diverse cultural traditions and encourage all forms of artistic expression. These grants celebrate the region’s richness in artistic expressions and cultural diversity.

The Arts Fund for East Tennessee was established in 1986 to serve as a source of funds to support excellence in the arts, expand access to the arts, and connect artists with each other and with East Tennessee communities. The Katherine Davis Moore and Mary Elizabeth (Betty) Davis Foundation Fund was established in 2017 for the promotion of cultural growth and the development of music and arts programs in the East Tennessee area for the benefit of young persons under the age of 25.

Grants have been awarded to the following organizations: Appalachian Resource Conservation & Development Council, Arrowmont School of Arts and Crafts, Bijou Theatre Center, Birthplace of Country Music, Boys & Girls Clubs of the Tennessee Valley, East Tennessee State University’s Slocumb Galleries, Friends of the Bonnie Kate, Guardians of the Gap, Historic Tennessee Theatre Foundation, HoLa Hora Latina, Johnson County Center for the Arts, Jubilee Community Arts, Knoxville Botanical Gardens and Arboretum, Knoxville Symphony Society, Koinonia Foundation Tennessee, Marble City Opera, Momentum Dance Lab, Monroe Area Council for the Arts, Museum of Appalachia, Postmark LaFollette, Royal Youth Dance Ensemble, Tennessee Stage Company, and Wesley House Community Center.

For more information, please contact Ashley Siferd Butler, Director of Competitive Grants, by phone at (865) 524-1223, toll-free at (877) 524-1223, or by email at ab*****@et*.org.