CNS Y-12 Community Investment Fund

General Description

Consolidated Nuclear Security, LLC (CNS), the contractor at Y-12 National Security Complex in Oak Ridge, TN, and the Pantex Plant in Amarillo, TX, established funds at East Tennessee Foundation and Amarillo Area Foundation as part of their commitment to the host communities of Amarillo and Oak Ridge, as well as their local counties and regions.

With the leadership of an employee-based CNS Y-12 Investment Advisory Committee, CNS employees have the opportunity to recommend grant support where the need is the greatest and the resources are best allocated. Since 2015, this fund has awarded 205 grants benefiting more than 120 nonprofits in their 20-county service area in East Tennessee.

Application Process

The online application will be available May 15, 2024.
The deadline to submit is June 14, 2024.

Grant Amounts and Terms

Grants will be awarded in September 2024 for one-year terms and will range from $2,000 – $10,000. Recipients must address one or both of the following funding priorities for the 2024 grant cycle:

  • Support Services for Youth and Young Adults Impacted by Adverse Community Experiences. Grant proposals should specify how programs mitigate the negative effects of childhood neglect, substance abuse disorder, mental illness, food insecurity, or housing instability for children and young people.


  • Victim Advocacy. Grant proposals should demonstrate how programs provide direct assistance to crime survivors in the community. For this focus area, preference will be given to programs that help survivors navigate the criminal justice system, recover from trauma, rebuild a sense of security, and access social and legal services.

Areas of Focus

By establishing the CNS Y-12 Community Investment Fund at ETF, CNS has created opportunities for its employees to award grants benefiting nonprofit organizations in their 20-county service area in East Tennessee, which includes but is not limited to the City of Oak Ridge, and Anderson and Roane counties. The 20 counties served are Anderson, Blount, Campbell, Claiborne, Cocke, Cumberland, Grainger, Hamblen, Jefferson, Knox, Loudon, McMinn, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Rhea, Roane, Scott, Sevier, and Union.

Who May Apply

  • Click here for General Eligibility and Funding Criteria.
  • Please note the following exceptions to the general eligibility requirements:
    • Because CNS Y-12 Community Investment Fund is a donor advised fund, applicant organizations are not required to provide their most recent financial statements and/or audit and/or IRS Form 990; current year operating budget; or list of current board of directors.

Additional Information

Please direct your questions to:
Ashley Siferd Butler, Director of Competitive Grants, or
Rachel Schott, Director of Scholarships
East Tennessee Foundation
520 W. Summit Hill Drive, Suite 1101
Knoxville, TN 37902
(865) 524-1223 or toll-free (877) 524-1223